Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Airline
Ryanair
Flight
FR6542
Aircraft
Boeing 737-800
Registration
EI-ENM
Class
Economy
Seat
24A
Date
31/10/2021
Flight time
01:40

  Iceland - Autumn 2021

Ryanair Marseille (MRS)  →  London (STN) 737-800 Economy Class 31/10/2021 Current review
PLAY London (STN)  →  Reykjavík (KEF) A321neo Economy Class 31/10/2021
PLAY Reykjavík (KEF)  →  London (STN) A321neo Economy Class 04/11/2021
Ryanair London (STN)  →  Marseille (MRS) 737-800 Economy Class 07/11/2021 Short review - 2.8/5

Share this review

  Iceland - Autumn 2021

Ryanair Marseille (MRS)  →  London (STN) 737-800 Economy Class 31/10/2021 Current review
PLAY London (STN)  →  Reykjavík (KEF) A321neo Economy Class 31/10/2021
PLAY Reykjavík (KEF)  →  London (STN) A321neo Economy Class 04/11/2021
Ryanair London (STN)  →  Marseille (MRS) 737-800 Economy Class 07/11/2021 Short review - 2.8/5

Introduction

Hello everyone and welcome to this new Flight review.

As part of Flightreviews.net's ambition to cover as many types of passenger experiences as possible, we are meeting today for a flight from Marseille-Provence to London-Stansted with Ryanair, the giant Irish low-cost airline.


Departure airport

Our flight will leave from Terminal 2. The latter is easily accessible with several parking areas close to the entrance.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Inside, it is a very simple terminal, undersized, which did not convince me. Indeed, as this terminal is dedicated to low-cost airlines, its layout is reduced to the bare minimum. As you can see in the picture below, we had to deal with a long queue. That's why I recommend you, and it's even more true when you travel with Ryanair, to arrive very early at the airport if you have luggage to check in. The process is often laborious, and if there is not enough room, you may miss your flight.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Anyway, after going through security, here I am, on the airside. Having accumulated a delay while waiting for check-in, I immediately head to the queue to wait for boarding.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Boarding

The time has come! We board, on foot, of course, EI-ENM, an 11-year-old Boeing 737-800.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Here is the tail of the beautiful bird with the famous yellow harp on a blue background, the logo of the airline.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

The fuselage shot is made, from the back this time!

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We then discovered a cabin well-known to travellers. Although this cabin does not make a very good impression, with its yellowish lighting, its abundance of plastic, and its recurrent dirtiness, how can you complain when you have paid a very competitive price for your ticket?

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

I then join my seat, the 24A, and discover the view from my window.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

The boarding continues.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

A small detail: there are no longer any paper safety cards on Ryanair planes. They have been replaced by a plastic print on the front seat.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Legroom is obviously tight and as you can see, there is no seat pocket!

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We simply have the classic tray table.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Outside, we meet some colleagues.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

The boarding is completed, it's time to start the ride!

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Take-off

We align ourselves and take off from the 13L in the stride…

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We turn left, the occasion for us to throw a last glance towards the airport before taking altitude.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Then comes the beautiful moment of cloud surfing…

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Cruising

The “Fasten Seatbelt sign” took a while to switch off. Therefore, some people took the liberty of standing up without waiting for permission.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Unfortunately with backlighting, the views through the window (very dirty, by the way) will not be exceptional.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We could nevertheless comfort ourselves with these two air-to-air.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

A little art to reveal all the dirt in the window…

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

During the whole flight over France, a thick sea of clouds will accompany us.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Turbulence is felt, and the "Fasten Seatbelt" sign turns on.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

It is only over the Channel that the sea of clouds will fade.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Shortly after arriving over England, we flew over London-Heathrow Airport.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Descent and arrival

We begin our descent.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

To slow down our speed, the airbrakes are deployed.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We then make a sharp turn to line up.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

And here we are in the final before the touchdown!

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Pegasus' A320neo takes off over us after we clear the runway.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Then we meet some beautiful aircraft such as a former KLM 747 or a Qatar Executive private jet.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Welcome to Stansted, aka the home of Ryanair!

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

A 737 MAX or should I say a 737-8200 with the Irish low-cost airline.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

We disembark by foot with some nice views of the aircraft.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Arrival airport

We then enter a staircase followed by a corridor. It is interesting to know that Stansted airport does not have a lane for connecting passengers. For transit passengers, it is, therefore, necessary to collect their luggage and go through customs before being redirected to their next flight.

Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy Flight review: Ryanair from Marseille to London in Economy

Conclusion

To conclude, it was a normal Ryanair flight on a regular route. Terminal 2 in Marseille would clearly deserve a refurbishment. About the airline: from a comfort point of view, it's a bad service from Ryanair. However, as I said before, you have to measure this against the price you pay. The price-quality ratio is still good. On arrival, Stansted Airport is quite satisfactory.


Ratings

3.7/5
Cleanliness
3/5
Accessibility and orientation
4.5/5
Efficiency
4.5/5
Services
2/5
2.4/5
Cabin and comfort
1.9/5
Entertainment
1.3/5
Food and beverages
2.8/5
Crew
4/5
Cleanliness
4/5
Accessibility and orientation
4.5/5
Efficiency
4.5/5
Services
N/A

Would you also like to make a Flight review?

Flightreviews.net offers everyone the possibility to make Detailed and Short reviews. Anyone who flies, even if he's not an aviation expert, can share his experience on board on Flightreviews.net. Together, let's take passenger experience to the next level.