Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Flight
LH936
Aircraft
Embraer E190
Registration
D-AECF
Class
Business
Seat
03A
Date
21/12/2023
Flight time
01:25

  Trip to London

Lufthansa Paris (CDG)  →  Frankfurt (FRA) A321neo Economy Class 21/12/2023
Lufthansa CityLine Frankfurt (FRA)  →  London (LCY) E190 Business Class 21/12/2023 Current review
Lufthansa London (LHR)  →  Frankfurt (FRA) A321neo Business Class 26/12/2023
Lufthansa Frankfurt (FRA)  →  Paris (CDG) A319-100 Business Class 26/12/2023 Short review - 3.8/5

Share this review

  Trip to London

Lufthansa Paris (CDG)  →  Frankfurt (FRA) A321neo Economy Class 21/12/2023
Lufthansa CityLine Frankfurt (FRA)  →  London (LCY) E190 Business Class 21/12/2023 Current review
Lufthansa London (LHR)  →  Frankfurt (FRA) A321neo Business Class 26/12/2023
Lufthansa Frankfurt (FRA)  →  Paris (CDG) A319-100 Business Class 26/12/2023 Short review - 3.8/5

Introduction

Hello everyone and welcome to this new Flight review. In the first leg of my trip, I shared with you my experience on board a Lufthansa Airbus A321neo from Paris to Frankfurt in Economy Class. For this second flight, I'm taking you with me aboard a Lufthansa CityLine Embraer 190 in Business Class from Frankfurt to London-City. I not only wanted to try out London-City Airport but also Lufthansa CityLine in Business Class, because I was fascinated by the 1-1 configuration, which I had already experienced in August 2022 aboard an Embraer 195 of Air Dolomiti.


Frankfurt Airport

I meet you at the check-in hall of Terminal 1 at Frankfurt Airport, where there is an entire area dedicated to Business Class passengers.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

There's nobody around at this hour.

My flight is well indicated on the large boards in the check-in hall.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

An unavoidable stop at the Lufthansa WorldShop.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

I head towards Gates B, passing through an area with plenty of shops and restaurants.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Then through security. There's a priority lane for Business Class passengers. No waiting at this hour anyway.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Interestingly enough: Frankfurt Airport now has new scanners that no longer require you to take out your laptop, liquids, etc. Everything can stay inside, making the experience much smoother, faster, and more convenient. A huge time saver. Can't wait for this to become standard everywhere!

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Then immigration. For some obscure reason, the automated immigration gates are closed today. So, I resort to a classic booth. Immigration is done in less than a minute.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Here we are, in the non-Schengen zone B of the airport. The last time I was in this zone was in July 2022, on my Lufthansa flight from Frankfurt to Delhi on a Boeing 747-8.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Our flight to London-City is scheduled on time, along with several flights to London-Heathrow and Gatwick.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

I stop at a German restaurant. Time to have a Currywurst (curried sausage) and Kartoffelsalat (potato salad), accompanied by an Apfelschorle (sparkling apple juice).

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Then I walk to Gate B26, where my flight will depart, passing once again several shopping and dining options.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

On the way, I pass by an Air Canada Boeing 787 and a LATAM 777.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Arrived at the gate.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

My plane has just arrived, from Leipzig. It's D-AECF "Kronberg/Taunus", an Embraer 190 LR, delivered in 2010. It's one of the airline's last Embraers. One by one, they're being transferred to Air Dolomiti, a Lufthansa subsidiary that operates certain flights for Lufthansa CityLine.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

A thorough identity check is conducted just before boarding. Visas are also checked for people whose nationality requires a visa to enter the United Kingdom.


Boarding

Boarding finally begins, starting with PRMs and families traveling with small children. Then Business Class passengers are invited to board.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Cold welcome on board by the purser, busy enjoying a pastry.


Cabin and seat

Arrived in the cabin. This Embraer has 6 Business Class seats in a 1-1 configuration, over 3 rows. A configuration similar to the one I tested on Air Dolomiti between Munich and Paris-Orly.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

I reach my seat, 3A, in the last row of the Business Class cabin, by the window.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

As always with Lufthansa on short- and medium-haul flights, it's a standard European Business Class seat. That means it's the same seat as in Economy Class with an empty seat next to it and a bit more legroom. But the advantage of the Embraer (as with the CRJ) is that the original 2-2 configuration means that the empty seat next to you offers full aisle access.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The empty seat has a surface for placing drinks, although it is a bit fragile and wobbly.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The seat offers a very decent legroom.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

It comes with a standard-sized tray table.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The seatback pocket contains a safety card, a sickness bag, and the Buy on board “Onboard Delights” menu for Economy Class passengers.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

A coat hanger is provided for each seat.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The seat reclines with a button on the armrest, just like any other Economy Class seat.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

There are no power outlets or USB ports in this Embraer cabin.

Boarding is complete. The Business Class cabin is full.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Safety demonstrations begin, led by the purser, who is now munching on an apple between each announcement...

The sun is about to set over Frankfurt.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Departure

After a while, we push back, with a view of an Air China Airbus A350 and a United Airlines Boeing 777.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

I apologize in advance for the bad quality of the exterior photos, due to the onset of rain and the cabin lights remaining on.

We taxi to runway 18.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The special "600th Airbus Aircraft" livery worn by the 600th Airbus aircraft received by Lufthansa.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

An A380 is visible in the darkness on the other side of the runways.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

We approach the runway and line up.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

At 17:45, with half an hour delay, we take off. The cabin lights remain strangely lit during takeoff.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

The climb is very turbulent.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Entertainment

Before the service begins, I would like to discuss entertainment. But it's practically non-existent on this flight.

This plane doesn't have Wi-Fi on board, no IFE screens, and no portal with entertainment content, although Air Dolomiti offers a portal on its Embraer with an interactive map, useful information, music, games... Too bad that Lufthansa CityLine doesn't offer anything like that.

However, Lufthansa offers a good selection of magazines and newspapers to download before the flight. I covered this service in detail in one of my last Flight reviews with Lufthansa, in case you're interested.


In-flight service

The service starts after some time, probably due to the strong turbulences, which require a little patience.

The meal consists of a light tray signed "Heimat", the catering offer provided by Lufthansa in Business Class on its short- and medium-haul flights.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Regarding the cold "main course," it consists of slices of chicken served on an assortment of vegetables, including lettuce, carrots, green beans, and what seems to be edamame, all accompanied by a sauce I couldn't quite describe. It was okay, but far from exceptional.

The Brötchen (bread) was extremely hard and disappointing.

The dessert, an opera cake, was excellent.

A glass of apple juice accompanies the meal.

The service was very efficient. The purser came by several times to make sure we weren't missing anything. Still very cold though.

A little later, the descent towards London begins. A piece of chocolate is distributed.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Descent and arrival

The approach is also quite turbulent, though very nice over the city.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

We land at 18:05 (local time) on runway 27 at London-City Airport, with a 25-minute delay and after 1 hour and 25 minutes of flying, 15-20 minutes more than usual, probably due to the wind and storm Pia.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

We quickly vacate London-City's short runway and taxi to our stand.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

We stop at stand 7, next to a British Airways CityFlyer Embraer 190.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

After a good 10 minutes of waiting on board, we finally deboard.

Who says London City, says deboarding via stairs, giving the opportunity to see our Embraer from the outside before entering the terminal.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

London Airport

Immigration is accessed through a narrow, relatively long corridor.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Thanks to the automated immigration gates, it takes less than 30 seconds.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Then we arrive at the baggage claim area. My luggage arrives in only 5 minutes. A small negative point: no respect for the priority of the luggage delivery... But at least it was fast.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Then towards the exit, which leads directly to the departure hall of the terminal.

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

I then take the tube to get to London. It took me less than 35 minutes to reach the Westminster area from the airport (DLR and Jubilee lines). The big advantage of London-City Airport!

Flight review: Lufthansa CityLine from Frankfurt to London in Business

Conclusion

And that concludes my second review of this trip to London, aboard a Lufthansa CityLine Embraer 190 in Business Class from Frankfurt to London-City.

Lufthansa CityLine

Regarding Lufthansa CityLine, the flight was okay but frankly far from exceptional. The cabin is nothing special either, just a typical European Business Class cabin. The legroom is good and the empty seat next to you offers quite a bit of extra space. However, the lack of power outlets or USB ports is unfortunate. As for the service, it was decent, the food was pretty good, but again, far from exceptional. The crew was helpful but not friendly. The purser preferred his numerous snacks to serve the passengers... In terms of entertainment, nothing at all is offered, except for an interesting selection of newspapers and magazines to download before the flight. No Wi-Fi is offered, not even a portal as it can be found on Air Dolomiti Embraers.

Frankfurt Airport

Concerning Frankfurt Airport, it was more than decent. No waiting, everything went very smoothly. Security and immigration were almost instantaneous. The airport is very clean, modern, and comfortable. There's a wide range of shops and restaurants. A flawless experience!

London-City Airport

As for London-City Airport, the experience was really pleasant. A clean, very smooth airport, immigration was a breeze, baggage arrived quickly, all very convenient and connected to downtown London in just 30 minutes. Nothing to complain about, it's unbeatable!

I hope you enjoyed this Flight review. In the next episode, I'll take you from London-Heathrow Airport to Frankfurt Airport aboard a Lufthansa Airbus A321neo in Business Class!

Thanks for reading and see you soon ;)


Ratings

Cleanliness
5/5
Accessibility and orientation
5/5
Efficiency
5/5
Services
5/5
Cabin and comfort
3.4/5
Entertainment
2/5
Food and beverages
4/5
Crew
3.8/5
Cleanliness
5/5
Accessibility and orientation
5/5
Efficiency
5/5
Services
N/A

Would you also like to make a Flight review?

Flightreviews.net offers everyone the possibility to make Detailed and Short reviews. Anyone who flies, even if he's not an aviation expert, can share his experience on board on Flightreviews.net. Together, let's take passenger experience to the next level.